Municipalities of Moore County

Dear Senator Tom McInnis, Representative Neal Jackson, Representative John Sauls, and Representative Ben Moss,

As you are aware, in the later part of 2024 a downzoning provision with a retroactive timeline appeared in SB382 Disaster Relief and was passed.

This downzoning provision impacts the municipalities in Moore County by allowing unchecked higher density and growth in our communities and it weakens the municipalities' zoning authority.

Downzoning is a tool that communities can use to preserve life and culture that makes each municipality unique in their own way. This downzoning provision no longer allows for preservation of quality of lifestyles, it is paramount for us to preserve what we currently have and not lose more due to the lack of ability to control high density developments.

We, the Mayors of Moore County's municipalities, urge you to consider restoring our downzoning authority as we are in complete opposition as it stands in SB 382.

Dated 17th day of March 2025.

Sincerely, Town of Aberdeen Town of Cameron Town of Carthage Foxfire Village Town of Pinebluff Village of Pinehurst Town of Robbins Town of Southern Pines Town of Southern Pines Town of Taylortown Town of Vass Village of Whispering Pines Cc: Moore County Chair and Board of Commissioners County Manager